History - Who are we?

  • Friendship House, He Whare Tangata ; A place for people in the heart of Manukau
  • Established by partnership of six church denominations
  • A response to health and community development issues identified in the early 1970’s

Friendship House is a gift to the community from the six founding churches:

Anglican Church
Roman Catholic Church
Baptist Church
Presbyterian Church
The Salvation Army
Methodist Church



(This list records some significant events in the life of Friendship House.)

12 December 1976: The temporary ‘Friendship House’, with volunteers and part-time staff, was opened in two re-locatable Lockwood houses, near where the permanent building was later erected.

13 December 1977: An agreement was signed by the Anglican General Trust Board which committed the Anglican, Methodist and Presbyterian Churches to purchase Lot 43, and to build a Centre on the site.

13 April 1978: The land was blessed by mana whenua of Pukaki Marae.

31 May 1978: Legal possession was taken of Lot 43.

30 November 1978: A plaque was laid to mark the commencement of work on the new building. Representatives of the seven Churches involved in the planning to date were present.

17 June 1979: The official opening of the permanent ‘Friendship House’ took place.

7 June 1984: The Friendship House Operating Agreement was signed by the Heads of six Churches: Anglican, Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterian, Roman Catholic, and The Salvation Army.

1997: Major refit of the building.

2010: Refurbishment of foyers and utility areas.

For an expanded history of Friendship House: (PDF loaded – The Early Years – Earle Howe)

Annual Reports

View our annual reports below:

Find out how you can help us

Ask a question. We'll be happy to help